2009 President’s Awards for Staff Recipients

Recognition of our staff does not go unnoticed. In 2009, UBC announced an expanded recognition program for staff excellence with more opportunities for UBC faculty, staff and students to nominate extraordinary individuals. In addition, a new Deputy Vice-Chancellor award was created at UBC Okanagan.

left to right: Bernice Urbaniak, John Sacre, Laura-Lynn Lowry, Alan Steeves and Kersti Krug

In 2009, UBC recognized the following:

President’s Service Awards for Excellence Recipients

  • Kersti Krug, Assistant Principal, Strategic Development & Communication,College for Interdisciplinary Studies
  • Laura-Lynn Lowry, Manager, Food Services
  • John Sacre, Manager, Cyclical Renewal & Deferred Maintenance, Building Operations
  • Alan Steeves, Computer and Electronics Manager, Department of Mechanical Engineering
  • Bernice Urbaniak, Administrative Manager, School of Human Kinetics

Staff Awards of Excellence Recipients

Enhancing the UBC Experience:

  • Mark Bomford, Program Coordinator, Land & Food Systems
  • May Wah Chow, Scheduling Clerk, Enrolment Services
  • Karen Young, Undergraduate Program Advisor, Dept. of Geography

Leadership and Creativity:

  • Michelle Berner, Director, Total Compensation, Human Resources
  • Jennifer Phelps, Assistant Dean, Graduate Studies

Global Citizenship:

  • Madeleine MacIvor, Associate Director, First Nations House of Learning

Staff Awards of Excellence (Okanagan)

Community Engagement

  • Bud Mortenson, Public Affairs Manager, Alumni and University Relations


  • Roger Bizzotto, Manager of Facilities

Customer Service:

  • Wendy Mohns, Faculty Administrator, Creative and Critical Studies
  • Barbara Lucente, Faculty Assistant, Barber Arts & Sciences

Deputy Vice-Chancellor Award (UBC Okanagan)

  • Leanne Bilodeau, Manager, Workplace Health and Sustainability